COLUMBUS, Ohio — Governor Mike DeWine and the Ohio Bureau of Traffic Safety released a new educational video on Tuesday to teach young drivers the dangers of distracted driving.
The video features two young people explaining what distracted driving is and what the punishment can be for those caught.
“This new educational video uses a light touch to engage young drivers in this incredibly serious subject,” DeWine said. “By using young drivers to deliver this message, we hope Ohio’s teens will take important safety lessons to heart every time they get behind the wheel.”
There have been more than 69,000 distracted driving accidents in Ohio since 2017, including 2,060 fatal and serious crashes, according to the Ohio State Highway Patrol. Among these accidents, 40% of the drivers were between 15 and 24 years old.
In Ohio, anyone under the age of 18 can be arrested if an officer sees them using their phone in any way.
Drivers cited for distracted driving face a $150 fine and teenage drivers face an additional 60-day license suspension. An additional $100 fine may be imposed if the distracted driving occurs during a moving violation. The fine can be waived if the offender takes a distracted driving education course.
The video can be seen here.